Blurring of the Line Between Personal and Professional Online Branding

Hello again! I apologize for the long delay between posts. I’ve just finished a nice three-day Easter holiday spending time with my family. I’d share more with you, however, since  this post is about blurring the lines between personal and professional social media use, I’ll skip the personal details and get straight to the point.

So, does anyone know where this line is? I’m honestly not sure  how and where to draw the line for my own social media use, which is what led me to believe that it is blurred.

Before I dive into this topic, I want to pose some questions:

  • Social Media facilitates the sharing of knowledge, but how much is too much? (do we really need to know the intimate details of a person’s relationship?
  • Is there a balance point? if your are trying to establish a professional image, should you not provide details of your personal life?
  • When you post your personal thoughts and reflections in a blog, Facebook or twitter, do you lose your professionalism?
  • Does every word really need to be thought out and every post proofread? (Is my future boss going to be checking my blog for spelling and grammar? Yikes!)

I can’t answer these questions in one simple response.  My personal belief on this is that the thoughts, updates and information you share, whether it is online or in real life,  are the things that make you who you are.  The professional connections you make through social media want to get to know you, so the more information you share, the better they will be able to do that.

Your online professional brand is established through the collective use of many social media tools, so sharing different things across different platforms will help facilitate the process.

Here are some of my tips:

  • Draw your personal/professional line and stick to it.
  • Be your own buffer. Don’t write it if it feels wrong to say out loud.
  • Keep things simple and focused on one idea at a time (No one wants to hear every train of thought I have).
  • Always remember, anyone can see the things you post online.

Sometimes you want to say something without the whole socially connected world to hear. In that case, who says you cant write in a good old fashioned journal? Or, nowaways, there’s an app for that. I tend to think in short, random trains of thoughts so the desktop of my mac is cluttered with ‘Stickies’.  Once you get and idea down that you think its worthwhile for the world to know, then you can refine it, write about it and share it through social media.

Ultimately, the power is in your hands to create the online brand that you want to portray.  Through social media, you can be whoever you want to be.

To close, I’ll give you a glimpse of my weekend, which revolved mostly around food, as do all holidays in my household. These are my great-grandmother’s delicious sugar cookies, frosted by my mom and me.

One response to “Blurring of the Line Between Personal and Professional Online Branding

  1. Bring some cookies to class!

Leave a Reply

