Brand ‘ME’

Since I was first introduced to the internet, online has always been the way I preferred to communicate with people. For some reason its just easier.

For example, during my teens, I would spend hours having deep heart to hearts with people via AOL instant messenger (and if you’re 20-something years old like me, you know that you did to!). Looking back, I shared way too much using that SM tool. I could say anything while sitting behind a computer screen.  It was almost as if you could pretend the words didn’t really come from you.

But now, somehow I went too far in the wrong direction. Now, I don’t feel comfortable sharing anything. I do not use social media for its proper purpose, which is to facilitate relationships (among other important things).

The purpose of this blog, in addition to my other SM use, is for me to open up and re-introduce myself to the world as a marketing professional. To share my insights, learn from others and make significant connections for my professional career. With those purposes stated, as much as I don’t want to use this blog as an outlet for my thoughts and feelings, there is a part of me that can’t escape that this is what it really is for me.

The question I keep coming back to is, How do I create my online brand if I don’t know what I want my brand to be?

So I suppose my point here is, please bear with me while I figure this out; as soon as I  do, you will be the first to know. And to those who are actually reading this, I promise that someday, there will be some beneficial content in here.

Down the road when I have finally established Brand “ME”,  I can look back at where I started,  laugh and and enjoy how much I’ve grown.

3 responses to “Brand ‘ME’

  1. OMG AOL Instant Messenger…blast from the past. I actually got asked out on a date through AIM. Haha! Hang in there…you’ll get your “brand” soon enough! 🙂

  2. Don’t fret you’ll figure out what you want your brand to be. Everyone has something unique to bring to the table. Find something you’re really good at and something you really love (make sure they’re both the same thing) and voila, there’s your ‘brand’!

  3. Congrats on your blog. Definitely consider reading my book, Brand Me. Make Your Mark: Turn Passion into Profit. It is my journey to discovering my most valued asset…my authentic self. It breaks down the process of uncovering the most difficult part of your brand your authentic identity. Check out our sites at velvetsuite.com and brandmelive.com for resources and support to share in your community. I wish you well! @brandmelive and Melissa Dawn Johnson on FB.

Leave a Reply

